The School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences (SPMS) and the School of Nuclear and Allied Sciences (SNAS) held an opening ceremony on October 22, 2018 at the Great Hall to begin a week-long celebration marking the University’s 70th Anniversary.

The ceremony was well attended by industry players, faculty, staff and students of both Schools. Also present was Prof. Onwona-Agyeman, Dean of School of Engineering Sciences, and Prof. George Oduro Nkansah, Director of the Institute of Applied Science and Technology. The special guests included Prof. B. J. B. Nyarko, Director General of Ghana Atomic Energy Commission, Hon. Dr. Kwame Ampofo, Former Board Chair of the Energy Commission, Mr. Charles Amoako, Deputy Director General (Operations), Ghana Standards Authority, Dr. Paul Osei Ofosu, Ghana Standards Authority, Madam Lucy Dzandu, Institute for Scientific and Technological Information (INSTI), and Mr. Wisdom Ahiataku-Togobo, Ministry of Energy.

In his welcome address, the Acting Dean of SPMS, Prof. Robert Kingsford-Adaboh, said the theme for the celebration, “UG @ 70: Celebrating Excellence, Shaping Futures” emphasized the role of the University in the development of the country. He pointed out some of the University’s achievements such as being the best in West Africa, and winning several grants for cutting-edge research. He asked for increased support for the University, to develop the critical human resource needed for the country’s scientific and technological advancement.

The opening ceremony which was chaired by Prof. B. J. B. Nyarko, Director General of Ghana Atomic Energy Commission (GAEC) had two presentations. Dr. Stephen Yamoah of SNAS spoke on, “Nuclear Power in Ghana’s Energy Mix” while Dr. Ezekiel Nortey of the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science gave a presentation on “Ghana Beyond Aid, the Role of Quality Data”.

In his closing remarks, the Chairman noted that the two topics treated were closely linked since data management was crucial in the field of nuclear energy. There were goodwill messages from the special guests who congratulated both Schools for their contributions over the years. They wished the University more years of innovation and excellence.


Recommended Posts