signing2Dr. Kwaku Aning, Governor of Ghana, IAEA Board of Governors and Mr Dazhu Yang, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation, have signed the Ghana Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2017 – 2021 on 28 September 2016.

A CPF is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA and identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals.

Ghana has been an IAEA Member State since 1960. Its 2017 – 2021 CPF identifies 8 priority areas:

1. Food and agriculture
2. Human health and nutrition
3. Water resources and environment
4. Energy and nuclear power development
5. Human resource development and education
6. Industrial applications
7. Nuclear and radiation safety and nuclear security
8. Radioactive safety and waste managementgroup

Recommended Posts